CABINET LOCAL AUTHORITY GOVERNORS APPOINTMENTS SUB COMMITTEE

THURSDAY, 28 JULY 2016

PRESENT: Councillors Natasha Airey (Chairman), Geoff Hill, Jack Rankin and Samantha Rayner

Officers: Karen Shepherd

APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

Apologies for absence were received from Councillors Bateson and Saunders.

DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

None received

MINUTES

The clerk confirmed that the previous Chairman, Councillor Bicknell, had approved the draft minutes.

RESOLVED UNANIMOUSLY: That the Part I minutes of the meeting held on 31 March 2016 were approved.

APPOINTMENT OF LOCAL AUTHORITY REPRESENTATIVES TO GOVERNING BODIES OF SCHOOLS IN THE ROYAL BOROUGH

The Sub Committee considered the latest list of vacancies and candidates for LA representatives to Governing Bodies of Schools in the Royal Borough, as detailed in section 2 of the report.

The Chairman requested that officers provide an update on actions taken to attract candidates to vacant positions, including the longstanding vacancies at Churchmead CofE School and Trinity St Stephens CE First School. The clerk agreed to pass the request to Governor Services.

RESOLVED UNANIMOUSLY: That:

- i) Ryan Powell be recommended for appointment to Oakfield First School
- ii) Emma Wrigley be recommended for appointment to St Edwards

 Catholic First School
- iii) It be noted that following conversion to an Oxford Diocese Multi Academy Trust, Holyport Primary CE Academy no longer required an LA Governor.

LOCAL GOVERNMENT ACT 1972 - EXCLUSION OF THE PUBLIC

RESOLVED UNANIMOUSLY: That under Section 100(A)(4) of the Local Government Act 1972, the public be excluded from the remainder of the meeting whilst discussion took place on items 6-7 on the grounds that they

involve the likely disclosure of exempt information as defined in Paragraph 1-7 of part I of Schedule 12A of the Act.

The meeting, which began at 6.00 pm, finished at 6.08 pm	
	CHAIRMAN
	DATE